new fees to payments

justdanghappy
Contributor
Contributor

for some reason I am being charged a fee when people send me money. Ive been using paypal for 20 years and this just started happening..

Login to Me Too
12 REPLIES 12

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@justdanghappy 

Sellers pay fees and always have done since paypal started.

The only time you don't pay a fee is if you are receiving friends/family payments BUT its against paypal rules to use that for selling goods or services as it negates your buyers paypal protection and evades paying paypal their fee for processing your payments.  

Advice is voluntary.
Kudos / Solution appreciated.
Login to Me Too

justdanghappy
Contributor
Contributor

yep understood... I dont know what I did to change the way a couple of my friends are paying me that generates a fee. I will have them delete me then I will request money and see if that works. Thanks

Login to Me Too

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@justdanghappy 

Nooo don't use the request money, firstly if you refund you won't get the fee back again as paypal do not return the fee as part of any refund issued.

Secondly a money request will also incur a fee.

If its a friend then they may have been using the wrong option and sent it using goods/services instead of friends/family.

Heres the differences...............

Goods/Services Payments.

1. Invoice or Money Request.
2. Send money > Goods/Services.
3. Paypal.me link (if its a personal account then there should be the option to tick a box to make it a goods/services payment before you submit payment).

Friends/Family Payments.

1. Send money > friends / family (or trusted person).
2. Paypal.me link from a personal account where you don't select the option to make it a goods/services payment.

Advice is voluntary.
Login to Me Too

emerjensea
Contributor
Contributor