Why is the Paypal website so slow?

ScirraTom
Contributor
Contributor

Hi there,

New to this forum.  I'm a web developer for Scirra.com

We sell mainly via Paypal.  Logging into Paypal, searching for transactions, the entire experience is frustratingly slow.

Why is the website so slow, and what are the plans to fix it?  If it continues to be as slow as it is we're happy to find a faster service.

Here's a breakdown of normal times I observe logging in and finding a transaction:

Paypal homepage: 3.5 seconds
Login page: 11 seconds
Processing login: 7 seconds
Getting to homepage: 12 seconds
Click history: 14.5 seconds
Click find a transaction: 4 seconds
Find a transaction on email: 11.5 seconds

I would expect a website like this to load under a few seconds per page.  Clicking the history button and it taking nearly 15 seconds is unusually poor performance.  I'm not even sure how you could write the history page to take that long to load.

Login to Me Too
61 REPLIES 61

WPB
Contributor
Contributor

We migrated to Paypal from Google Wallet last year as Google Wallet closed, initially we were horrified at how slow and clunky the Paypal merchant experience is in comparison to Google Wallets.

We have developed a number of work arounds to speed things up but the Server speed still seems VERY SLOW for this day and age 2014.

There is nothing slow about our browser or internet connection the slowness is at paypal.

Login to Me Too

dylan8888
New Community Member

I could not agree more.

Paypal is the slowest website on the internet.

I have the new Comcast 50mbps internet, and it takes me 5+ minutes to load a report from yesterday (only about 30 transactions).