How do I use a foreign address?

firefly06
New Community Member

I am currently studying abroad in Japan and I would like to add my Japanese address so I can have things sent here, but  it only gives me the option for an American address. How do I add a foreign address?

Login to Me Too
28 REPLIES 28

PayPal_Andy

helenacf- It is true that you would normally need to have a PayPal account in the country that you're trying to ship to.  So if you're shipping to Mexico, you should have a Mexican account.  Now if you've given the seller a different shipping address and they send it, then that's fine.  But it would void the seller's Protections through PayPal, so most won't do that and we would advise them not to ship.  But if they agree to it, then that's on them.

Hope that answers things for you.

Andy

Login to Me Too

Joe4therecord
Contributor
Contributor

Andy,

That's... awful. I know it's not your decision on what policies the company abides by but man, how can it be like this?  Instead of working with sellers to create a solution, PayPal simply says "you're on your own"?

The common emotion seen throughout all these replies (besides frustration) is simple shock. How can it be like this when no other online company acts this way? And how can PayPal get away with it?

Login to Me Too

feif
Contributor
Contributor

Joe4therecord nailed it.  This is a typical "big corporate" response.  A more appropriate response would have been something along the lines of "we are aware of the issue and are trying to find ways of addressing it".  OTOH, at least we know where we the customers stand when dealing with this particular monopoly.

Login to Me Too

20questions
New Community Member