When will I be able to access my funds?

popober
Contributor
Contributor

So I'm working for an online company, and they pay using Paypal. It's my first time using the service so I fully expected to just immediately recieve my funds as soon as I got paid. I did, but now it seems that Paypal is wihtholding my payment? I updated it to "Order Processed" since that was what Paypal said, so I wanna ask how long can it be before I get my payment?

Status is "Pending" and says "Paypal has placed a temporary hold while we're revieweing it."

I was planning to use to money on some things asap, some of them pretty important, and I don't really want to wait any longer. I was also planning on actually using my funds here directly from Paypal, instead of say transferring it to a bank account.

I tried looking up at other similar issues, but I figured I might as well post about my specific problem since it's about selling a service instead of an item.

Login to Me Too
10 REPLIES 10

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@popober

Its down to how the payment was SENT to your account.

1. If your employer chose the send money > goods / services option then paypal would see you as a seller and apply the new seller hold. They would also charge you a fee.

2. If your employer had chosen the send money > family / friends option then you would have had the payment instantly.

You could try getting your employer to call customer services and authorise them to release the payment sooner as it was sent the wrong way?

Advice is voluntary.
Kudos / Solution appreciated.
Login to Me Too

popober
Contributor
Contributor

I sent them an invoice, which was how their system worked. After reading your post, I thought I might have been able to set the the invoice' nature differently. I didn't see anything when I checked the invoce creation page, however..

Login to Me Too

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@popober