Account verification

alex092
Contributor
Contributor

I've been using my account for over a year, and now I have to fax over ss info and other documents? I don't pay any bills at my house so that's out of the question. I already sent over a copy of my photo id which has been accepted. Can't I just have my account back the way it was? I have a lot of people I need to pay online, this is ridiculous...

Login to Me Too
9 REPLIES 9

psyche2012
New Community Member

Have you heard anything about your concern yet?  This is my first time using paypal and I've been asked for a copy of my social security card, my bank routing number and account number, AND my bank login name and password!  I can't believe this could be legit. Have you been asked for any of this?

Login to Me Too

alex092
Contributor
Contributor

I've heard nothing and I'm starting to get **bleep** off... I have a lot of things to do online and can't get through to anybody. They have also asked me for my ss info which is downright ridiculous. I def would not give anybody my ss info let alone your bank passwords and routing info? Who  do they think they are?

Login to Me Too

KatyMom
Contributor
Contributor

While I understand safety concerns, I think PP asks for WAY too much very personal information as well. 
My account is verified, but when I tried to make a change to my mailing address, you'd think I asked for
a personal tour of Fort Knox.  

It took me a full YEAR to get my home mailing address listed as "verified" with them. This was after I had sent the info requested to them (but NOT my SSN) -
They do have an alternate way that they will send something to your home address, and you do something from there ("something" because I can't remember what I had to do). It was a long, arduous process that took unnecessarily long.
I had had a verified account for many years, had lived at the same place for a long time, and they had sent out my debit cards to that very address, yet never changed my status.