Receiving: Paypal keeps auto-converting despite wallet

alltoowell
Contributor
Contributor

I'm in Germany and my primary currency is EUR, but I have a GBP wallet because I've been receiving payments in GBP for the past 2 years.
This has never been an issue, Paypal always immediately added the received GBP to my GBP wallet and whenever the currency rate was decent enough I could convert and withdraw the money when *I* decided to do that.

Unfortunately for the last two payments, Paypal has been automatically converting the amount from GBP to EUR without my permission or notification. The money is sent in GBP, I receive it in GBP (which I know from the email confirmation as well as the kinda hidden detailed statement history where I see the conversion took place) and when I login it's already added under the EUR wallet balance instead of GBP balance. 
I contacted Paypal customer service since it made me lose some money (because obviously I wouldn't have converted/withdrawn it with the current bad rates). The lady couldn't really help me and didn't know why it happened but offered a voucher to me. But this isn't a long-term solution since the payments are regular and I'd lose money every time it's done like this when it shouldn't. 

Paypal's Currency/Wallet FAQ clearly states how it's supposed to be:

"When someone sends you money in a currency that you haven’t opened, we’ll ask you to accept or deny the payment."
-> doesn't apply to me because I already have a GBP wallet, the money was always added automatically to my GBP wallet before 

"When someone sends you money in a currency that you’ve opened, we automatically add it to the relevant balance."
-> this has been the case for the past 2 years and suddenly stopped working 

What can I do about it? Should I try closing the wallet and readding it maybe? Are there any new settings that could have changed it? 

Login to Me Too
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solved

filipmania
Contributor
Contributor