PayPal identified me as the seller which I'm not

Jom04
Contributor
Contributor

I accidentally created a business account I think and PayPal identified me as the seller which I'm not. I am a freelancer and I just received the first payment from my client today. PayPal put my funds on hold and it's asking me to provide a proof of fulfillment, proof of purchase from my supplier and info on specific transaction activity. But I got none of those since I'm not a seller. What can be done?

Login to Me Too
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solved

sharpiemarker
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@Jom04 

Yes you are a seller. You are selling your services as a freelancer. With PayPal, you can receive payment for intangible services, virtual items and physical items.

You are posting with a personal account so you don’t have a business account and personal accounts also have ability to accept commercial payments too.

If you have none of the information requested, you’ll have to write a note explaining why you don’t for each request. Pdf the note and upload to the related request. So you have to write 3 notes:

proof of fulfillment = proof of delivery

proof of purchase = receipt from company where you get your inventory

info on specific transaction activity = explaining what those payments are for

Kudos & Solved are greatly appreciated. 🙂

View solution in original post

Login to Me Too
5 REPLIES 5
Solved

sharpiemarker
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@Jom04 

Yes you are a seller. You are selling your services as a freelancer. With PayPal, you can receive payment for intangible services, virtual items and physical items.

You are posting with a personal account so you don’t have a business account and personal accounts also have ability to accept commercial payments too.