FastSpring, deductions, subscriptions

lilodutoit
Contributor
Contributor

Good day

A deduction for $44.85 was made from my account on the 7th of November by a company called FastSpring. The beneficiary organization they were collecting for was called highpaying.net, ostensibly for a "subscription" with them. The thing is that I never created a profile or signed up for any subscriptions with them because they don't accept freelancers from my country, South Africa. So how is it possible that they can be under the impression that I have a subscription with them?

I've looked at these PayPal community pages and noticed some others with the same experience, and always quoting the EXACT SAME AMOUNT of $44.85 for "subscriptions". I've checked with all my platforms and none of them charge for subscriptions, and the best part is, that on my PayPal profile, FastSpring has loaded two payment instructions, one for highpaying.net and one for guru.com. I've checked with guru.com, they don't charge a subscription for the basic plan that I'm on. As for highpaying.net, their support email is fake and keeps bouncing back and their website contains no contact details, physical address, support channels, or even a phone number or a company registration number. I also see from your comments, and from the email I received back from FastSpring that someone from tasked.io was copied in on my complaint, so we'll wait and see if this is also a fake email. 

I have in the meantime reported highpaying.net with the FTC.