Refund to Closed Account/Card

bw16
Contributor
Contributor

I'm curious. I was refunded on March 14th 2019 for something I paid in November 2018.

However, as the title suggests, I had closed that account. I'm a UK resident that was studying in the US until January. At that point, I returned and cancelled my Chase debit card/account that has been used on this Paypal account.

Then, last week, I was refunded the money through Paypal (it was for an application I decided against and therefore they returned it to me).

Paypal states that if a refund to a closed debit or credit card happens, it would be eventually applied to the account. If that happens, that's great. However, I am not quite sure what is going on. I tried called Chase and they just keep telling me the account is closed and wouldn't be able to receive funds, yet Paypal won't let me take this to a resolution and it says I should contact my bank. I know the account has been closed and that this refund came after the closure.

If anyone has any experience with this, I would be forever grateful. All-in-all, I am still waiting for that "up to 30 days to be applied to your account". I can be patient, but I am just trying to make sure the right thing will happen. The transaction already says completed on my summary, yet it's a closed account. Help a poor fellow out please 🙂

Login to Me Too
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solved

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@bw16 

If the refund is declined by your account card and can't process back as the account is closed then it 'should' bounce back to your paypal account balance AS LONG AS ITS THE SAME PAYPAL ACCOUNT USED.

Advice is voluntary.
Kudos / Solution appreciated.

View solution in original post

Login to Me Too
7 REPLIES 7
Solved

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@bw16