Test paypal paynow button

dbrandt
New Community Member

How can I test the paypal paynow button on my web site, without making a purchase?

Login to Me Too
6 REPLIES 6

skier
Advisor
Advisor

Use the Sandbox.

Regards,

skier

Login to Me Too

PatrickHorn
New Community Member

How do you do that for a simple Buy Now Button?  I redirected the post action to the sandbox site, but I can't get the sandbox to response like the live site.

Login to Me Too

Bailey75
Contributor
Contributor

I'm really new to all of this. What is the sandbox?

Login to Me Too

skier
Advisor
Advisor

The Sandbox is PayPal's virtual world for testing item button code and dummy credit card transactions.  It's mirrors the real world for transactions and notification emails.  You can also test PayPal's IPN and PDT features.  You can learn more through this link and there are some common sense tips below.

Basic Sandbox Tips:

* Read the Sandbox Documentation first as you will spare yourself a bit of frustration.

Visit PayPal's Developer Central Website:
Select the "How To" Tab, then from the menu, select "Testing"

After that select the "Training Tab", scroll to the bottom of the Page and check out the last item titled "Getting Started with PayPal Sandbox".

* The Sandbox is a virtual world, it's not associated with your live PayPal Account in any way.
* You are not required to have a live PayPal Account to test code in the Sandbox.
* You will need a valid email address to setup your Sandbox Developer Account, suggest using an email not associated with your live PayPal Account. Get a FREE email address, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.
* In order to minimize confusion logging into your different Sandbox Accounts, simply use the same "password" for all of your Sandbox Accounts. This will also save some time as you toggle between accounts.
* Use the "Create a preconfigured buyer and or seller account" option. It's just easier as both bank accounts and credit cards are setup automatically.