HELP, please! Expired credit card apparently 'disabled' and now I can't update it

Glencky
Contributor
Contributor

First of all, hopefully I've posted this in the right place - I'm a newbie to this forum and I have tried to read the guidelines etc before posting.

I'm posting in absolute desperation. I've already wasted several hours trying to sort this out. The issue is very simple. I have one credit card linked to my PayPal account. I've been using it successfully and with no issues for years (primarily for eBay purchases and sales, but not exclusively). The card expired on 31st March. No problem - the card company sent me a new one. I have gone to all the various sites on which my details are saved and have updated it with no issues. Except PayPal!  I can't update PayPal and I just don't know what to do any more. I'm meeting a seemingly impenetrable wall of blah from the company!

PayPal sent me an email whilst i was on holiday at the end of March to tell me my card was about to expire and if I didn't update it, they'd remove it from my account. By the time I got back from holiday and logged on to update it, it had been removed. No problem, I used the 'add a card' function to add it back in again.

However, on adding the details, I received the message, "This card has been disabled for entry into the PayPal system. Please add a different card. You may also contact us using this form."