I Fell for phising scam

IshaqS

asdasdasdasd.PNG

So im fairly new to Paypal, I just got this emial, which was extremely convincing. I clicked on the link which directed me to a "secure" site and i accidently gave away my address date of birth, email, but before I gave away my license i realised i **bleep** up. I changed my payapl password as quick as possible, my main email password, ran malwarebyte for keyloggers and forwarded the scam email to paypal. Does anybod know the implication of giving such personal information to a scamer might be and also what futher measures should i take. I also noticed that the scammers were trying to access my paypal, as multiple SMS with the access codes were sent to me via phone/

Heres an image of the redirected site i found on an article at forbesscam.jpg

Login to Me Too
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solved

DPCreations
Frequent Advisor
Frequent Advisor

You're probably OK as it seems they wanted access to your PayPal account and you fortunately did not respond to the SMS message.

Your date of birth is not likely too difficult to get from some public records and email address can be discovered.  Other than attempting to access your PayPal account, there isn't a lot to worry about.

I assume your old email address is still with PayPal, so you just need to be extra vigilant for other messages.

NEVER repond to any alerts from PayPal.  Always log on to your PayPal account on a computer to check for alerts.

Also learn how to to recognize real email addressess of senders; the reaal email address my be hidden by a spoof.

Another suggestion.

Before you attempt to do any type of PayPal transaction, spend the next several days reading over various types of issues on the forum.  It can be a grate learning experience.

View solution in original post

Login to Me Too
6 REPLIES 6
Solved

DPCreations
Frequent Advisor
Frequent Advisor