Money transferred in counts as 'payment received'?

SeekTheTruth
Contributor
Contributor

Hi, question from a business newbie here.  Please can anyone answer it for me?...

Q:  If I transfer e.g. say €500 into my new business PP account from my linked bank account, does it count as a 'received payment', thus (more importantly) reducing my current Receiving Limit by €500?

Reason for asking... Since it's a new unused account it still has the initial EU Receiving Limit of about €2500 in place.  I'm told by PP that:

"To comply with EU anti-money laundering and ‘Know Your Customer’ regulations, we’re required to collect and verify information about you.  We must do this before you receive €2,500 (or currency equivalent) into your PayPal account (in total) within a year of you receiving your first payment.

To ensure there is no disruption to you or your business, we’ll notify you of this requirement when you receive €1,800 (or currency equivalent) in total.  Once notified, you’ll have to complete a number of requirements to satisfy these regulations."

Now then, I certainly do not want to even begin trading in my new business with this limit still there.  PP would start the final verification process only once there's a mere €700 remaining on the Receiving Limit.  From all I've read, there are any number of potential hold-ups with verification.  If things take too long or go wrong then, I could quickly end up with the account limited, funds inaccessible and my business effectively on hold for heaven knows how long (I'm forced to use PP btw, as it's for eBay selling).  That could break me overnight!