how long does it take for payment to clear?

spook-1690
New Community Member

Hi i'm new to all of this i have just recently sold an item on ebay for the first time and the payment is in my paypal but it says pending and because i'm a new seller on ebay it can take 21 days what i want to know is does it really take 21 days?

Login to Me Too
32 REPLIES 32

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

There is no more risk.

The 21 days hold is part of buyer protection.

If a buyer does not receive an item then of course you refund and claim off RM if you sent trackable.

But if the seller has no funds in their paypal balance then paypal has to refund the buyer and pursue the seller for the funds and that can take time.

So to prevent that happening they hold the funds of all new sellers until they have a good proven selling history.

The buyers cannot cancel the payment. The only time they get the funds back is if they file for item not received or item received but not as described which is no different than when they pay sellers without the hold.

Advice is voluntary.
Kudos / Solution appreciated.
Login to Me Too

astrostar
Contributor
Contributor

I have payments made with OVER 30 days and not cleared, others with feedback received many days ago and not cleared, so, prepare your self for a longggg wait....

Login to Me Too

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

HERES SOME INFO FOR YOU:

How can I get the payments released before 21 days.

1. If your buyer leaves feedback (pos) then funds are normally released within 48 hours of that feedback being left.
2. If you decide to send an item trackable then you can add the tracking number to the details of the paypal transaction and funds are then released when the item shows as delivered + 3 days.

What if I have met the criteria for release either earlier or at 21 days and the funds are still held.