Get the capture_id after subscription

electo
Contributor
Contributor
Hello,

I have a subscription button that I integrated with the Paypal API. After a subscription I get these informations:

{ orderId: "ORDERID", subscriptionId: "SUBSCRIPTIONID" }

I need to get the capture_id which is the id of the captured payment after the user subscribed.

After searching through the doc, I know that to get the capture_id I have to do this request:

curl -X GET https://api.paypal.com/v2/checkout/orders/<order_id> \
  -H "Content-Type: application/json" \
  -H "Authorization: Bearer <access_token>"

I should have the capture_id in the purchase_units fields returned by the request, but the purchase_units field I get is an empty array.

I found out that the status of my order is "APPROVED" and I need to have the status as "CAPTURED" to get the purchase_units. To do this I need to make this request:

curl -X POST https://api.paypal.com/v2/checkout/orders/<order_id>/capture \
  -H "Content-Type: application/json" \
  -H "Authorization: Bearer <access_token>"

But when I do that I get the error: "INTERNAL_SERVER_ERROR". (debug_id: e90328ffb24c8)

Also I don't understand why the order I get has the status "APPROVED" and not directly "CAPTURED", since when I go check on the user test account I have the payment which is done.

Can anyone help me on that ? I'm completly blocked and don't know what to do...

Login to Me Too
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solved

MTS_Jennifer

Hello @electo ,

Thank you for posting to the PayPal Community.

For subscription payments you will not have a capture id, but you can get the associated transaction id for the subscription. Since Subscriptions payments do not need to be captured, this is why you will receive an error message if you attempt to capture a subscription.