Brenda Caff wants to purchase my Craigslist Item

Hurricane
Contributor
Contributor

I received this email. No questions about the item which I found very strange. Is this legit?

Hi
 thanks for reply, i am a marine engineer, i am at sea right now. I am buying this for my son as a surprise gift. I can  only pay through paypal at the moment as i dont have access to my bank account online(i dont have internet banking with it), but i have it attached to my paypal account, and this is why i insisted on using paypal to pay,all i will need is your paypal email address to make the payments, and if you dont have a paypal account yet, you can set one up at www.paypal.com  it cant take you less than 3mins to do that, i will be expecting your paypal email so l can pay.  I have a pick up agent that will come for the pick up after payments has been sorted, and also do get back to me with your best offer. l will be waiting for your reply asap

Login to Me Too
18 REPLIES 18

bob48

got same email dont give any info  i am in vancouver  was approched this morning 

Login to Me Too

surplusdealdude
Advisor
Advisor

I always love this line;

i dont have access to my bank account online(i dont have internet banking with it)

If she didn't have internet banking, she couldn't have a working Paypal account.

Login to Me Too

Naje
Contributor
Contributor

What do I do if i have already given someone my paypal email address?? I had a buyer on craigslist ask me the same thing.  is there any way to avoid fraud before it happens? I thought it was legitimate. What can i do?

Login to Me Too

Naje
Contributor
Contributor

What do I do if i have already given someone my paypal email address?? I had a buyer on craigslist ask me the same thing.  is there any way to avoid fraud before it happens? I thought it was legitimate. What can i do? all i gave was my paypal email...nothing more. any suggestions???

Login to Me Too

surplusdealdude
Advisor
Advisor