Account limited because no verified bank account, can't verify bank account

I've been using ebay/paypal for close to 2 years now with no issues whatsoever; this whole time I've been able to make purchases with my visa debit card linked to my paypal and without having to worry about linking my actual bank account.

Earlier this week I bid on an item on ebay, and ended up winning it for a few cents over 2 dollars. When I got home that night and saw that I had won the bid, I immediately went to pay for the item, but was met with an error saying that paypal had limited my account. After some research I found out that a limit had been placed on my paypal account because I had not yet linked my bank account (I guess they have a spending limit on how much you can spend with just your debit card or something). So I thought, okay, I'll just take care of this now. I used a paycheck I had recieved and input the numbers on the check to link my account, then sent a message to the seller of the item I had won asking if it was okay if I paid for the item as soon as I was able to sort out the issue with paypal. They cheerfully said that was fine.

Three days later, I still hadn't seen any small deposite/withdrawls on my account from paypal (which is how they alert you that your bank account has successfully been linked, and you input those two amounts to finalize the bank account). I called paypal, and while they were nice they didn't seem to know how to help. The gentleman told me to wait until later that night and check again.