Why won't PayPal credit work?

Tarawa
Contributor
Contributor

I have been using Bill me later for years and I had to link my account to a PayPal account to use it on various sites. I've done that and the account shows in my PayPal summary page and it's listed as the default payment but when I try to use it as a payment method I get this

Return to merchant and try a different payment method

We are not able to process your payment using your PayPal account at this time. Please return to the merchant's website and try using a different payment method (if available).

Why? This is happening on all sites I try to pay with PayPal credit. Best Buy, Walmart, Ebay...

Login to Me Too
44 REPLIES 44

Osinger
Contributor
Contributor
Honey, side by side my financial situation all around is better which is why I want to help. I'm a retired loan officer and did credit analysis for 20 years. Your terminology is good and it's obvious it does not come down to a simple number. But, if some items are not to be purchased because of my profile, that should be stated up front just like I was up front with my personal information.
Login to Me Too

DPCreations
Frequent Advisor
Frequent Advisor

I don't think any purchase is restricted by your profile, whatever you consider to be your PayPal profile.  Financial situation, yes, but not profile.

Purchases can be retricted based on PayPal's analysis of the risk involved in certain types of purchases.