credit card information needs to be entered twice

HollyK
Contributor
Contributor

I'm a website designer and one of my customer's sites is configured using WordPress and WooCommerce. He noticed that when his customers try to pay wtih PayPal using a credit card, not a PayPal account, they are asked to submit the information twice.

I confirmed this today by placing an order myself. I have a PayPal account, but on the very first PayPal screen, I clicked on "Pay with debit or credit card" instead. I was taken to a screen titled "PayPal Guest Checkout." I entered my credit card information there. A "processing payment" hourglass appeared. PayPal then took me back to what looked like the first PayPal screen, asking me if I wanted to pay with my PayPal account or a debit or credit card. I had to click on that and re-enter the card information. VERY disconcerting as it appeared I had paid twice. On my customer's end, I only paid once, and had I not re-entered the information a second time, the order would have been stuck in "pending payment" mode on his end.

This seems like a PayPal usability bug to us. Is there any fix in the works?

Does this only happen to existing PayPal customers? That is, I have a PayPal account so when I tested this, there was no way I could test this as a user who doesn't have PayPal.

Thanks for any information.

Login to Me Too
12 REPLIES 12

sharpiemarker
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

Haven't heard of any widespread complaints of this nature.  Could be a problem with the integration.  For technical support though, check: https://developer.paypal.com/support/

Coders don't hang out here much.

Kudos & Solved are greatly appreciated. 🙂
Login to Me Too

HollyK
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks, SharpieMarker - will check out that forum.

Login to Me Too

Wolfenfury
Contributor
Contributor

We're having the VERY SAME ISSUE.