Thailand and PayPal ????

hlo35
Contributor
Contributor

Can someone please let me know if it will still be possible to receive money for a particular to a Thai account ? Thxs

Login to Me Too
4 REPLIES 4

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@hlo35 

Think you have to have a business account in Thailand to receive funds.

https://www.paypal.com/th/smarthelp/article/%E0%B8%88%E0%B8%B0%E0%B8%A3%E0%B8%B1%E0%B8%9A%E0%B8%81%E...

Advice is voluntary.
Kudos / Solution appreciated.
Login to Me Too

ThailandAmulets
Contributor
Contributor

NO you can not! PPTH has joined the 3rd Reich of Thailand  Racist Junta to stop individual merchants (in USA once called the premium or individual merchant account, which ALL Paypal countries have EXCEPT fascist Thailand). I have been selling 10-30,000$ a month with Paypal TH since about 2010 or so, and now, they gave a deadline of Febrary 22 to submit company papers or have account restricted to not be able to make payments, receive, or otherwise.. only add funds from bank but not withdraw. If PayPal thinks we freelancers and digital nomads will use the account just to buy stuff but cannot receive or sell, well.. dream, on Paypal, i moved to Wise already haha, thanks for giving me the push to discover a better payment gateway that does not prevent me receiving payments in Thailand, so the Gov ain't preventing anything, they are just killing Paypal but not other gateways which are popping up to take Paypal TH's place.

Online sellers seek Thai govt help after PayPal cancels transactions

BANGKOK (The Nation/Asia News Network): The Creative Workers Union Thailand (CUT) submitted a letter to the House of Representatives’ Labour Committee earlier this week, complaining that the recent policy change by popular online payment service PayPal Thailand has affected freelance online sellers of goods and services.