Annoying account restrictions when getting paid via PayPal

Jake-71
Contributor
Contributor

Hello!

This is my first time getting paid via PayPal... I sold a guitar effect via Reverb.com, and asked the buyer to pay me with PayPal; the buyer lives in U.S.A and I live in Finland. Then PayPal announced me that they have restricted my PayPal account, and that will persist until I send them some more info. First they asked me the tracking code of the order (that was understandable) and a picture of my passport (?). I sent those to them and then they told me that they have cancelled the restrictions partly. Now I should describe the item I sold (which I did), but then they are requiring me the receipt of the purchase of the item I sold. Well, I bought it in the beginning of 1990's, so I really do not have any receipt of that anymore, after 30 years. Any ideas what I could do? And why they are doing this? I understand they want to protect the buyer (which explains the tracking code...), but the latest requirements do not have anything to do with protecting the buyer. Are they trying to confuse or frustrate me, so that I would give up and tell them to keep my money (nearly 700€)... This is getting really nerve racking... And my advice for those who are selling something by getting paid via PayPal: think twice!!

Any help is appreciated. Thank you in advance!!

Regards,

Jake

Login to Me Too
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solved

PayPal_RebeccaN

Hey @Jake-71

Thank you for your post and welcome to the PayPal Community Forum! 

I understand you have an account limitation and you would like some help on how to complete the steps to remove the limitation. 

Limitations can be placed when a customer has seen significant growth in business or has received a larger than usual payment, so we simply need to ensure that the buyers are satisfied with the product or service that is being delivered.