Integrating Smart Buttons to an Old Static Website HELP

ExtremevvvvM
New Community Member

Hi, I am a developer helping a small nonprofit add some simple "buy" buttons to their website to replace the by-hand order forms they have been processing for years. I thought that because they have a Paypal business account integrating that into an online payment link would not be that hard. Their website is almost 20 years old and uses an Apache Webserver and PHP backend. 

What I thought would be a simple task of reading the documentation and then implementing the solution turned into a several-hours headache of googling, researching, reading, since everyone seems to have different methods of implementing PayPal Checkout. Building a whole backend order confirmation service is not what I was hired to do, and going to a competitor who charges a higher transaction fee is just lazy and bad business. 

All the examples assume you are a startup working with a brand new Node.JS server. There were no PHP examples anywhere I could find. It wasn't until I found this forum that I found the OLD PAYPAL BUTTON MAKER IS MUCH SMARTER, MORE TIME EFFICIENT, AND BETTER FOR SMALL BUSINESS. If anyone can explain how to integrate the new checkout system with an old PHP based static website, I would like to know. But I also want to please ask the developers to realize that most the website does not use Node JS and would like simple, easy, solutions to sell products online, like the nonprofit I work for. Thanks!

Login to Me Too
6 REPLIES 6

MTS_Chiranjeevi

Good day @ExtremevvvvM,

Thank you for posting to the PayPal community.

PayPal provides multiple button types and merchants can integrate them based on the requirement. Please find the below button types.

Screenshot 2023-09-19 at 11.14.47 AM.png

I would suggest to please explore the "Sell on Social" button. 

Please follow below steps via PayPal Business account.