New to the community? Welcome! Please read our Community Rules and Guidelines
Its down to how the payment was SENT to your account.
1. If they sent using money > goods / services option then paypal would see you as a seller and apply the new seller hold. They would also charge you a fee.
2. If they had sent using the send money > family / friends option then you would have had the payment instantly with no fee. (However that option is not available in every country).