Help!! Craigslist Scam or Legit?!

LoveTheSunICT
Contributor
Contributor

Since I no longer need it I decided to sell my wedding ring and a friend suggested Craigslist because they had some success selling things on there. I expected to use a local buy, cash and handle the transaction at my friends office, who is also an attorney, so it would be a safe 3rd party location for both of us. 

I received an email from a woman in another state who wishes to have more pictures of the ring and wants to know my final selling price. She asked if I used paypal because she uses it for her business and she asked me for my paypal email address and name so she can send me the money if she decided to buy it. She provided her name and address so far, no phone number. I've only used paypal to purchase classical things from eBay so I have no experience receiving payments. This will be a $6500 transaction so I want to be extremely cautious. Is there a safe way to do this through paypal or should I tell her no and move on to a local buyer?

Thanks!!!

Login to Me Too
13 REPLIES 13

surplusdealdude
Advisor
Advisor

Nonononono.

All sorts of ways she could scam you.

Craigslist is ONLY for personal pickup, cash on delivery.

If she wants it badly enough, tell her to get on a plane.

Login to Me Too

LoveTheSunICT
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks so much for the information. It's true what they say, trust your gut feeling!

Login to Me Too

surplusdealdude
Advisor
Advisor

Yup, I tell online people that all the time.

Login to Me Too

Raciel
Contributor
Contributor

You got that right!!

cash up front if you want the item or else don't waste my time.

Login to Me Too

pdx

I think I almost got scammed from something I was trying to sell on Craigslist.