I got scammed, lost 10k. Please help me. Paypal and Apple Card seem to not want to.

adityakashyap
New Community Member

I was recently stupid enough to fall for a "work from home" scheme. Long story short, I made purchases for "office supplies" worth approx 10k. (they sent me a check to cover that cost, which later bounced of course).

I was in a full-on state of panic as that was literally all the money I had and I am a student in a foreign country. I contacted Paypal and Apple Card and tried to get them to block my payments and get my money back.

There were a total of 10 transactions so I opened a claim on all of them. Paypal ruled in my favor in 9/10 cases and hence I withdrew the cases from apple. I literally have it in writing saying "Paypal decided in my favor so you can withdraw my claim".

However, I got an email from Paypal today saying that since I disputed the transaction with my credit card company, they will not investigate or decide the 10th case and reopened my old cases. I had already withdrawn the cases with Apple Card though. So I called Paypal and Paypal said that I need to contact Apple even though I withdrew the case and tell them to reopen the case and look into it.

Now Apple is saying that they won't open the cases again because I withdrew them voluntarily.

So basically I am stuck. Paypal won't look into my case and neither will Apple. They both just want to shift the blame.

Paypal, you can see that it is a scam. I provided you 92 pages worth of evidence. I have withdrawn my cases with Apple, so why will you not give me my money back fair and square?

Login to Me Too
3 REPLIES 3

sharpiemarker
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@adityakashyap