Should I cancel Paypal Credit? Worried about credit score

Huntress1696
Contributor
Contributor

So I was interested in making a larger purchase recently and saw Paypal's credit's 6 months no interest if it's over $100 deal. This was perfect for my situation so I signed up for the program and was approved for 1,250.00 in credit. Hooray.

Come to find out I was not able to use the credit to make my purchase because the stupid security system kept denying my payments. I was **bleep**, but that's for another post.

The window for purchasing the item I want has closed, I do not intend on using the credit at any point in the future. I want to cancel my account, but am worried about the impact it will have on my credit score.

I am a young college student with only one credit card, no debt, and only around a 15% untilization rate. The Paypal Credit account has only been open for around a week.

Anyone have any experience with this? Will canceling this card destroy my (Very good) credit score? Should I just keep it for now?

Login to Me Too
3 REPLIES 3

DPCreations
Frequent Advisor
Frequent Advisor

PayPal Credit is NOT a card; it is a credit vehicle for selected online purchases.  PayPal Credit does not report to credit agencies in the same way that credit card companies do; PayPal would, however, report defaults and late payments.  Your "available credit" on PayPal Credit is not the same as "available credit" on a credit card so it can't be reported to agencies the same; I don't believe it is reported at all.

So, I don't think cancelling PayPal Credit would have any impact on your credit score; on the other hand I'm not sure you really could cancel it completely if you wanted to.  I also see no benefit in even attempting to cancel it.

PayPal Credit will be offered as a payment option when all factors are good, even if you did not have PayPal Credit.