Getting started as developer

alvaro-fc
Contributor
Contributor

I'm a web developer based in Spain and I've been asked to integrate PenPal into a client's site. The site will gather sellers and buyers and my application needs to collect money from buyers and get it sent to sellers—and then, at a later step (which should be invisible to buyers) pay a percentage of the total amount to the site itself.

I'm still in the earliest phase of the integration, where I need to select which PayPal product I have to use. I've never used PayPal before and the information is overwhelming and often contradictory. To make it worse, my profile uses Spanish terms and most docs use English terms so I don't even know if they're talking about the same products.

I kind of reached the conclusion that I need to use something called "Adaptive Payments" and implement a service called "Chained Payment".

I've created a "Business" account and managed to obtain some API credentials. But when I write some code following PayPal APIs Getting Started Guide I always get the same result:

Authentication failed. API credentials are incorrect.

And it seems true: I've tried some other credentials I found in some code samples I downloaded from PayPal and they work fine with my code.

So my questions are:

1. Have I chosen the right product?
  2. How do I obtain a valid account for development?

If this is not the right place to ask this kind of questions, please accept my excuses but I've been reading documentation for three days and I'm still as clueless as the first day.

Login to Me Too
6 REPLIES 6

snowshoe
Frequent Advisor
Frequent Advisor

You may want to visit the Developer's forum for info.

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/tagged/paypal

For testing code and scripts, PayPal has a feature called the Sandbox:

https://developer.paypal.com/

It's a good place to work out the glitches and learn before going live.

Login to Me Too

alvaro-fc
Contributor
Contributor