Account locked after 16years of use because PP now want me to prove who I am

Q8quillpen
Contributor
Contributor

I have never had any issues with my PP account and after 16 years they have locked the account and want me to verify my address... I have been using this address since the beginning and it is my home!! Upload my drivers licence or passport...What the hell for? I have been using this account for 16 years! they have verified my Bank account etc etc. Now due to this stupidity I have been penalised because a payment that was due was knocked back by PP! I am thankful that the account has no balance as I have been using my bank for payments. If there had been money in there PP would have kept it as I have no access to the account. I have tried to close the account and I can't until I upload proof of ID documentation...I guess next they will want your DNA as well. I won't be uploading any documents prior to closing the account as it would be pointless. I have another PP account that I use with my website and I have just removed the balance from that account to be safe. I am now going to have to remove all the PP buttons and periodic payments from that account as well to ensure that if PP decides to lock that account I don't have any funds in there that they could steal! What the hell is going on with PP???????

Login to Me Too
4 REPLIES 4

mel787
New Community Member

So frustrating!! I just created my first business account and somehow PP system placed my country as Jamaica!? when I live in GUAM!! in order to change it they said I need to submit a bunch of forms certifying my "non-US business" - how the heck?!?! I am a US business!!! then they said "you can leave this account be and create a new one with another email" - what?! no this is my business email!! there is no other. wow already having a bad experience and I am just getting started 😞 sorry for ranting on your post. I seems like we are both struggling with having to do extra work for no good reason.