Scammers on Depop

Amybradley
New Community Member
I have recently bought an iPhone 6 on depop for £230. The seller suggested I buy it through PayPal friends and family so she didn't lose any of that money through Depop, so I agreed. A few days passed so I asked her if she had sent the iphone and if I could have the tracking number. Shortly after sending this message it came to my attention that she had blocked me on depop and had not given me any information about the delivery. She is a scammer. I have proof of all messaging and transaction. Please help me get my £230 back off her and bring her down so no more people get scammed. I am a student and all I wanted was a more up to date phone. All help would be really appreciated.
Login to Me Too
2 REPLIES 2

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@Amybradley

“Gift” or “personal” payments are intended as transfer of funds from family or friends to one another. For this reason, there is no processing fee when payment is made with bank or PayPal balance.

On the other hand, as it is a “personal” payment, there is also no Buyer protection as no goods or services should have been exchanged.

If he was not a close mate or family member you should never use that option as it enables the seller to evade his paypal fees and negates your buyer protection at the same time.

Scam sellers often ask for payment that way as they know this.

Your only hope is if you funded your paypal payment via a credit card then contact your card issuer and see if they will help you.

Advice is voluntary.
Kudos / Solution appreciated.
Login to Me Too

Emilycgore
Contributor
Contributor