PayPal credit

sashaandsweetie
Contributor
Contributor
I bought a watch on eBay. It was not as described. I suspected it was fake but I have no qualifications to make this assessment. On receipt I contacted the seller and informed PayPal credit. PayPal credit online form wouldn’t upload my photographs so I wrote that and advised that I had proof if they needed it. They simply refused my claim without asking for evidence. Then the seller agreed to refund. I posted the watch back and provided PayPal credit with proof of receipt. Still, they wouldn’t accept my claim. EBay say it’s Paypal’s decision. PayPal have come up a variety of excuses which as I have a law degree and my husband is a solicitor are simply not legally valid. Now they want me to complain to the Ombudsman. I would rather just go to court. I have more faith in a judge than the financial Ombudsman. PayPal refuse to give me a transcript of our conversations although I have most of them as screenshots. Does anyone understand why they are being so unreasonable.
Login to Me Too
4 REPLIES 4

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@sashaandsweetie 

Firstly if you have no proof its fake then you have no basis for filing a dispute for item received but not as described.

What would photos prove? If it was the item advertised on ebay and the photo did not prove it was fake then it would be useless proof?

Secondly if the seller accepted a refund then they can just go ahead and refund, you don't need it to go via paypal if the seller is happy to refund you.

BUT if the seller got the item back and did not refund then you would need to supply paypal with a tracking number to prove delivery of the item back to the seller, however pointless providing tracking if your claim was refused before you returned the item.

Paypal does not generally get involved in the quality of items, if you bought a watch and received a watch then odds are the seller will win the dispute.