Holding payment?!?!?!!!!

PamelaW
Contributor
Contributor

Alright, let me start by saying that I have been using PayPal for many years and have done more than $100,000 worth of business through them without any issues. That being said, today I find that any payments coming in through the account are being held until proof of delivery is shown?????

The reason, they state in their bot generated email, is, quote... "We’ve placed the money for this transaction on hold because we noticed that you have had recent disputes raised against you or transactions which were recently reversed by PayPal."

The disputes they are refering too I assume are refunds that I had to send to ebay customers. Now anyone familiar with ebay and their buyer-bias system knows that when I buyer opens a dispute then you as the seller are given few choices to resolve any issue, the most prevailant being a refund. In my case, two of my recent transactions were sent but never arrived and were listed as lost by the post office. They both opened a "item not recieved" case at my request and I refunded them. Ya see, the main issue with the ebay system is that if a seller initiates a refund or cancel transaction request we are given two options to choose for the refund; either the item is "out of stock" or is "lost/broken". Once the refund goes through on such a case then it is considered a strike against the sellers account. As with baseball, too many strikes and you are out. 

The only way to avoid a strike against your account is to ask the customer to open a request/case and then refund them when the option to do so is given. It closes the case and there is no strike against the sellers account. Don't ask me why their system is designed that way, but it is. A seller cannot initiate a refund for any reason without it being a strike against them.