Cancelled e-check

Blue8505
Contributor
Contributor
Paypal and Ebay have a big problem on their hands allowing buyers to pay with e-checks. I'm a novice seller on Ebay. I sell maybe 1-2 times a year. Personal things, mostly cell phones after upgrading. Within the last couple weeks I sold my phone. I got notice of a payment on Ebay/Paypal. I was happy just like any other time I'd sold something. On Ebay it says "ship to fund". In Paypal on the pending payment it says "ok to ship" I shipped the phone and the buyer (scammer) cancelled the payment a few days later. I had never even heard of an e-check. I didn't know it was possible to cancel a payment. Pending or otherwise. This was to be money towards Christmas for my kids. I'm really **bleep** that sone thief was able to get my phone for free!
Login to Me Too
2 REPLIES 2

Quandary
Advisor
Advisor

Seems the buyer was aware of how eChecks work and took advantage of a loophole - the buyer did not have a backup funding source so he or she was able to choose the eCheck funding option.  As the funds came from the buyer's bank account, after the eCheck was sent, the buyer then contacted his or her bank and requested that eCheck payment be cancelled - basically the buyer cannot cancel it directly but, the bank can if requested.

Here's the details from one of the FAQs:

An eCheck is an electronic payment funded by the buyer’s bank account.  With an eCheck, the recipient should receive the money within 3-6 business days.

Both eChecks and Instant Transfers are ways to pay with your bank account. With an Instant Transfer, the recipient receives the money right away. You only need to have a confirmed U.S. bank account to send an eCheck, but an Instant Transfer also requires a backup funding source such as a credit or debit card registered on your PayPal account.

For buyers: