Seller Protection vs. Cost (dispute for an item not received)

jth240
Contributor
Contributor

I've been selling on ebay for several years as a hobby and I am in my first "dispute" over an item not received.  I've looked at the forums on "seller protection" but I don't necessarily see it.  I normally send out my won items the following day, or a second day at the latest, because I have a po box and go check my mail frequently so it's not an extra trip.  Most of my feedback all says "super-fast shipping" or something along those lines.  

I recently sold an item and shipped it the next day and have a receipt from the post office that shows the city/state/zip of the recipient.  When I read the protection terms, however, it says proof of delivery is the type you pay additional for.    Keep in mind this is a hobby, not a business i'm running, so I try my best to give people good rates and make sure i'm available.  I'm in the middle of this dispute and trying to figure out who paypal is going to side with.