SELLERS BEWARE: PAYPAL WILL NOT PROTECT YOU

ericsmith1996
Contributor
Contributor

I have been selling on paypal for 4 years. Last June I sold a product to a customer whos credit card company claimed was invalid. After speaking with the customer (and taking screenshots) he confirmed that the payment was genuine. I had sent him the product with NO return. Now Paypal stated that I owed them 85 dollars with NO documentation that I would get the product back. Paypal asked for my responce and I responded in text and was attaching the images. After clicking submit I was NOT permitted to attach any additional documention (my screenshots). I called paypal 10 times, with each time being redirected and being on hold from 45 min-1.5 hours. Customer service is worse than Comcast! After finally speaking with a representitive I was told I would get an update in a few days with my case. I never received an update. I continued to call paypal with no sucsess or direction where I could sent my documentation to. I was then sent to a collection agency. After I would communicate that I would be disputing the case, a new collection agency would take the case. I have been sent to multiple collecgtion agencies and when I call paypal I am told they are uninvolved with the case. I have tried time and time again to get a hold of them and have spent at LEAST 7 ENTIRE lunch breaks being on hold. I will NEVER use paypal again and want to tell every seller that they will not protect you. ALL that I want is for someone to look at my case as I have tried for MONTHS. I WILL NOT pay this balance until I am returned the product in the condition it was sent. I am EXTREMELY dissapointed in a company I have worked with for years. SELLERS BEWARE!!! 

Login to Me Too
3 REPLIES 3

Whac-A-Mole
Frequent Advisor
Frequent Advisor

If I understand what you are telling us,the customer filed unauthorised transaction meaning it aint him who made the payment with his credit card issuer.