PayPal wants to see photo ID, SSN card, proof of address

ana15
Contributor
Contributor

I've been buying on eBay and paying with PayPal for many years, but today all my attempted transactions were refused: "We can't process your payment. Please select a different payment method or check your payment details including your billing address."

When I log into PayPal in a separate browser window, it says that federal regulations require PayPal to "collect specific information to verify your identity" and then goes on to say that I have to provide a photo ID, as if I'm giving a credit card to a store clerk in 1980. And it also asks to see my social security card and some proof of my address.

That seems very strange. How would a photo ID matter to PayPal? Can they see me? I have no camera on my computer.

Has anyone else had this experience? Or is it some kind of elaborate high-tech scam?

Login to Me Too
11 REPLIES 11

DPCreations
Frequent Advisor
Frequent Advisor

Perhaps there was something unusual about the transaction which prompted a security compliance request.

Have you used a different address for billing and delivery?

Federal regulations require more control than a couple years ago.  PayPal has to comply with money regulations to insure that members are identified sufficiently to meet all federal and other standards.

Why not prove who you are?  Banks also must confirm member identies and SSN's.

Login to Me Too

ana15
Contributor
Contributor

I was trying to buy an SD card and a card reader, from various sellers. In one case I was trying to buy the same item that I bought from the same seller two weeks ago.

I've always used the same address for delivery as for billing, as I did in this case.

I'm not averse to providing information to PayPal, but since they never asked for it before, and since I can't understand what good a photo ID would be to someone who can't see me, I thought maybe it was phishing.