PayPal holding funds after 7 days of verification

SyreethDraws
New Community Member

Hey, yeah I have a big problem. I'm a digital artist, so I take commissions which are paid through PayPal. I recently completed a piece for 20$ and the payment went to 'on hold'. That was okay. I finished the piece and set the delivery to 'delivered'. The client responded to the email, and I got a notification that I'd receive money 7 days after verification. Well it's been 8 days and it's still not unlocked. I need this money to pay someone for a job. I've done what PayPal asked, by delivering it (digitally, of course) and having the client rate it as perfect, so why can't I access it? I'm loosing patience and I'm very close to moving away from PayPal with its stupid tax fees and pending payments

Login to Me Too
27 REPLIES 27

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@SyreethDraws 

With payments received for tangible goods Paypal would request valid tracking information confirming the funds have been delivered to the buyer. As they can validate the tracking information online, once it is delivered they can release the funds. As you have received the funds for a service no tracking number is applicable and Paypal would be unable to release these funds any sooner than the 21 days.

The buyer may have the option on their account to mark the transaction as delivery/satisfied. If the buyer confirms this by clicking on the "Confirm Receipt" button, the funds may be released to you sooner. This is not always guaranteed.

Advice is voluntary.
Kudos / Solution appreciated.
Login to Me Too

samota
Contributor
Contributor

So PayPal may lie and inform clients the hold is for 7 days but in reality it holds the funds for 21 days?
We understand that the longer PayPal holds the funds the more opportunity it has to generate profit from the held funds. But isn't that fraud?!!
Since "Quick Delivery" of funds is no longer an honest characteristics of PayPal