Can't pass Security Check after 9 years

Axerker
New Community Member

I've been using Paypal since 2012 and recently I purchased two products online that both needed to be refunded/returned due to being defective. Paypal automatically marked my account as suspicious and forced a Security Check on my payments. This would be fine, except there's a technical error when I try to enter my phone number. I enter the number and get the green checkmark, then when clicking Save to continue, it says "That phone number is not supported". It's the same phone number on my account for years, the same one I can login with, etc. I even updated the number using different formats in my account to match the exact format they use when entering the number - no luck.

I contacted support 3 times over phone and once over chat, and each gave me irrelevant solutions, such as forcing me to change my password, as well as three different responses:

a. Wait 24 hours and hope for the best, there's nothing I can do for you. I've reset your password and sent you a phone verification link (to the phone number that isn't supported, yet I got the link).

b. I see there's a risk on your account, I can't override it. Wait 72 hours and it might fix itself. I've reset your password and sent you a phone verification link (to the phone number that isn't supported, yet I got the link).

c. I see there's a risk on your account, I can override it. Wait 72 hours and it might fix itself, if it doesn't you'll need to stop using Paypal. I've reset your password and sent you a phone verification link (to the phone number that isn't supported, yet I got the link).

After waiting 72 hours, I still get the same error when trying to use my account. I saw online that there are supposed to be other options for the security check, such as e-mail verification, but the only option I'm ever presented with is phone. Then get the error message and can't continue.