Since when do you need to juggle a balance to do refunds? Let me refund without a balance.

interoceptive

I've been using paypal since 2003 and selling on ebay for 20 years as a hobby.

Occasionally someone doesn't want to wait and they open a case if a package takes too long or even more rarely something gets damaged - usually I just refund them.

I don't remember EVER having to maintain a balance to do that. Now my paypal account says I'm negative? How? Just take the money out of my bank or credit card. If I say to send someone a refund just send them the money, I don't get why I now have to transfer exactly $27.50 to cover a refund but then subtract $5 for a hold for something else and then be careful not to spend from my balance so I have enough to cover aforementioned refund. What a mess.

I guess it's been a long time since I've had anyone request a refund because I don't recall ever having to worry about this crap before and I always transfer money to my bank right after I get it - because it makes it easier for me to keep track of instead of spending 20 and seing 14.50 on my bank statement because I forgot I had 5.50 balance so now I'm wondering why the totals are wrong.

So my question is 2-fold. When did this start? And Is there anything to opt in to where they can just allow me to refund people when they ask me to instead of holding a worthless balance that I'll forget I have until a purchase elsewhere doesn't add up right.

Actually I'm moving this to suggestions board so it's also a suggestion. Don't force me to have a balance. Paypal used to be the most convenient and this is very cumbersome.

Login to Me Too
1 REPLY 1

interoceptive

Also this endangers my account because if I can't refund them when I want then the buyer gets upset and then would force a refund and at that point it doesn't matter whether I have funds or not the buyer will be sent their refund regardless. So why not just let me send them the money now?

Login to Me Too