Please help, i'm new

Clockwork
Contributor
Contributor

i've just sold an item on Craigslist and the buyer wanted to pay via paypal, and i have never used this service before. I recieved an email that said i had to send a tracking number but i dont know where it is on the email. The email says the buyer has paid but will hold my money from my account until it has confirmed i have shipped, but i dont see anything on my account history.

i'm not sure what the tracking number is, and i'm not sure exactly how to ship once i get this sorted out
Login to Me Too
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solved

surplusdealdude
Advisor
Advisor

Well, it's a really good thing you came here, because it's a scam.

There is no money in your Paypal account for this purchase and bever will be - what you received is a fake paypal payment.

You can forward the email you received to spoof@paypal.com and they'll confirm it, but it's a fake.

Do NOT send this item out ( to Nigeria, if I'm not mistaken).  If you have sent it out, first thing tomorrow, go to the post office and ask them to recall the package.

View solution in original post

Login to Me Too
8 REPLIES 8
Solved

surplusdealdude
Advisor
Advisor

Well, it's a really good thing you came here, because it's a scam.

There is no money in your Paypal account for this purchase and bever will be - what you received is a fake paypal payment.

You can forward the email you received to spoof@paypal.com and they'll confirm it, but it's a fake.

Do NOT send this item out ( to Nigeria, if I'm not mistaken).  If you have sent it out, first thing tomorrow, go to the post office and ask them to recall the package.

Login to Me Too

Clockwork
Contributor
Contributor

hey thanks so much, I called the post office and asked them not to ship it anyway, just to be safe, and i figured it might be a scam. Thank you for confirming, i really appreciate it.

Login to Me Too

Marson
New Community Member