1099-C

ccjpol
Contributor
Contributor

I received a 1099-C from PayPal Credit today.  After researching myself, I confirmed what I already knew, that I hadn't even USED my credit account in over two years, and the last time I accessed it at all was to pay it in full--again, over two years ago.  I am very upset about this because I work in finance, and anything like this that WAS actually reported to the IRS (whether incorrect or not) would be a real problem for me.  There is a phone number for questions, however, it goes to a voice mail.  I left only my name and phone number.  Further research shows that there are a large number of people who have received this, telling me that PayPal has had yet another data breach.  This is very upsetting, and I don't understand why PayPal doesn't have better data security, this has happened several times with PayPal accounts! 

Login to Me Too
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solved

PayPal_Olivia

Hi @HeatherRJ, @Tiff1112, @air2023, @CampC2C, @Dungey22, @SeanMarcel, @Urmama, @Omegajb, and @Temp20230201B,

Thank you all for your posts in the Community Forum, and welcome or welcome back!

I'm sorry to hear that there was confusion regarding a 1099-C. There was an error that caused the documents to have the main Customer Service number instead of the appropriate number for the group that services questions relating to the debt cancellation, but other than that, the numbers listed in this linked article about 1099-Cs are the correct ways to contact for any corrections or to report that the debt is not yours.

I hope this helps!

Olivia

If this post or any other was helpful, please enrich the Community by giving kudos to its author, accepting it as a solution, and/or coming back to assist others. Members make this Community great!

View solution in original post

Login to Me Too
60 REPLIES 60

HeatherRJ
Contributor
Contributor