Problem with transaction id

Jordivid
Contributor
Contributor

Greetings to all.

I am new to web programming. Right now I am finishing my first demo online shop using javascript and php, which I intend to use in a portfolio. I decided to use Paypal sandbox to include Paypal express checkout as the payment method. 

So I implemented the createOrder and onApprove functions. Inside the onApprove function I perform the funds capture, which returns the transaction id. I associate this id to the customer's order and save it into database. If the order is cancelled I use this transaction id to issue a refund request from Paypal, and it is here when the problem arises. I have coded this refund request in 2 ways:

1) Using orders API:

$amt = new Amount();

//This param contains the amount to refund
   $amt->setTotal($_POST["amount"])->setCurrency('EUR');

$refund = new Refund();
   $refund->setAmount($amt);

$sale = new Sale();

//This param contains the database stored transaction id
   $sale->setId($_POST["paypalID"]);

try {
      $refundedSale = $sale->refund($refund, $apiContext);
   } catch (PayPal\Exception\PayPalConnectionException $ex) {
        $err = $notify.$ex->getMessage();
   } catch (Exception $ex) {
        $err = $notify.$ex->getMessage();
   }

2) Using payments API:

class RefundOrder
{

public static function refundOrder($captureId, $debug=false)
  {
    $request = new CapturesRefundRequest($captureId);
    $request->body = self::buildRequestBody();

$client = PayPalClient::client();
    $response = $client->execute($request);

return $response;

}

public static function buildRequestBody()
  {
    return array( 'amount' => array('value' => '0.10', 'currency_code' => 'EUR'));
  }
}

RefundOrder::refundOrder('DATABASE-STORED-TRANSACTION-ID', true);