Obtain PayerID via Login with PayPal

jimmyli
Contributor
Contributor

Hello,

I am just starting out developing an app that uses the payout API. I would like to get the payer_id of a user that has logged in with paypal. I am able to successfully call the userinfo endpoint of the identity API, which returns the following:

{'verified': 'true', 'email_verified': 'true', 'email': 'NOT_ALLOWED_TO_WRITE_THIS_HERE', 'user_id': 'https://www.paypal.com/webapps/auth/identity/user/xFGpMjjoqS-MClBcVyYQV3D6IzZ-uuKal2HuDhw1_MQ'}

According to the reference (https://developer.paypal.com/docs/api/identity/), it seems like it's possible to obtain the payer_id from this endpoint. However, payer_id is clearly not present in the response, and I don't see any checkbox in my app settings that would enable this property.

How do I obtain the payer_id of a user that has logged in via paypal?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Login to Me Too
18 REPLIES 18

decovo

Hi @MTS_Andre We're having the same issue too. We're not getting the payer_id in the sandbox or the live app credentials. Payouts API is enabled for our account, is it possible that the payer_id scope is not enabled for our account too? 

Any assistance much appreciated with this! Our PayPal integration is blocked until we can get this resolved 😞

Login to Me Too

cute2day
Contributor
Contributor

Hi @MTS_Andre - Same issue here. Would like to get a Payer ID to utilize Payouts but having trouble getting it via Login with PayPal. Thanks!

Login to Me Too

MTS_Andre

@decovo @cute2day

Hi, is the account you are using for the API calls the one linked to your nick name? If not can you send me a private message with  the email account you are using for the API calls?

Login to Me Too

wpanther
New Community Member

Same issue here. We are trying to get from info from a userinfo end-point, with scope: "openid profile"