Obtain PayerID via Login with PayPal

jimmyli
Contributor
Contributor

Hello,

I am just starting out developing an app that uses the payout API. I would like to get the payer_id of a user that has logged in with paypal. I am able to successfully call the userinfo endpoint of the identity API, which returns the following:

{'verified': 'true', 'email_verified': 'true', 'email': 'NOT_ALLOWED_TO_WRITE_THIS_HERE', 'user_id': 'https://www.paypal.com/webapps/auth/identity/user/xFGpMjjoqS-MClBcVyYQV3D6IzZ-uuKal2HuDhw1_MQ'}

According to the reference (https://developer.paypal.com/docs/api/identity/), it seems like it's possible to obtain the payer_id from this endpoint. However, payer_id is clearly not present in the response, and I don't see any checkbox in my app settings that would enable this property.

How do I obtain the payer_id of a user that has logged in via paypal?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Login to Me Too
18 REPLIES 18

MTS_Andre

Hi, can you send your full API request? Cover sensitive data eventually.

Login to Me Too

jimmyli
Contributor
Contributor

Hello,

I am using the Python SDK, specifically following this example: https://github.com/paypal/PayPal-Python-SDK/blob/master/samples/openid_connect.py

My code looks like this:

tokeninfo = PaypalTokeninfo.create(code)
userinfo = tokeninfo.userinfo()

userinfo then holds the data I wrote in my earlier post. code is obtained via the Login With Paypal Button.

Please let me know if this is the information you are looking for. Thanks.

Login to Me Too

MTS_Andre

Ok, it could be that the payerID is not configured in your scopes. I can double check that but I need your account email, the one who is processing the login-with-paypal and the payments but send me a private message, don't share it here.

To enable the Private Message function:

- click on the top right icon of your profile
- click on "Preferences"
- under the "Personal" tab you will find "Private Messenger"
- click on it to turn it on/off