Underpaid Postage?

jori1979
Contributor
Contributor

I have been selling and shipping and using Paypal for I would guess 20 years. I have NEVER had an issue with not weighing or measuring correctly. Today I get an email saying I owe for underpaid postage. This is a package that was sent and delivered at the beginning of December. They are saying the weight is correct but the dimensions are wrong. They are saying the package was 4 inches longer and 5 inches thicker than I claimed. There is no way. The BAG i shipped it in couldnt even stretch to 11 inches. Im just so confused. I already paid $16.34 in postage and they are asking for another $18.51. If I have to pay this I basically gave away what the person purchased. I messaged Paypal thru their system since I dont see a way to email, lets see how long it takes them to reply. I cannot print any postage labels until I pay this postage discrepancy. Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you!

Login to Me Too
13 REPLIES 13

gj-mom
Contributor
Contributor

I think we are being scammed by Paypal. I just had the exact same thing happen to me! I have spent my whole day on the phone with USPS customer service, 2 post offices, and Paypal Customer service. I shipped a book via media mail like have been doing with my business for 7 years. USPS has found nothing wrong with my shipment. I shipped it December 1st and it was delivered on December 7th. January 3rd 2021 I got a message saying that I owe $12.25 for underpaid postage. USPS says there was NO UNDERPAID POSTAGE filed on my account or on that package. Paypal says it's not their issue because it was purchased via Paypal but for a USPS label. Do you think somebody in Paypal is making money off of scamming people. If they get us to "just pay it" so we can continue shipping with our business then they will keep on scamming. 

Login to Me Too

dreamsicle4
Contributor
Contributor