DO NOT USE PayPal Credit Card. Interest Fees Are a Scam and their business practices are dishonest

Jason80
Contributor
Contributor

I've been using PayPal  for over 15 years so I decided to try giving their credit card  after getting a promotion for six months no interest.

I set up auto payments thinking it would automatically pay the account off when  it became due, but it did not. So, I was charged almost $200 in interest fees, and although I paid off the balance when I saw what had happened just one week later, they would still not waive this interest fee. Any other credit card company would have waived this fee, but PayPal is sticking to their dishonest business practice of not notifying you that the auto payment will not pay off  the balance, and they will not waive the interest fee even though you paid the balance off immediately after becoming aware. They also DO NOT CARE how long you have been using PayPal.  

Needless to say, do not sign up for their credit card, even from a promotion. IT IS A SCAM!

Login to Me Too
14 REPLIES 14

tarabryan1
Contributor
Contributor
I've been receiving invitation emails for some time to apply for the PayPal MasterCard. As soon as I seen the posted interest rates I was so disgusted I googled "PayPal credit card ripoff" and found this forum. I've been disgusted with PayPal & their exorbitant charges for years now. In fact I quit buying and selling on eBay because of these excessive charges. I possess several credit cards. The highest interest on any of these is 19% The lowest is 8% Not only is PayPal's interest rate plus 22%, but they also calculate the interest differently, resulting in extreme interest charges. PLEASE PLEASE people, do not apply for this card. The whole thing is designed to keep you in debt. Please read the fine print. If you're in need of a starter card go with capital one..or a Walmart master card. You've been warned my people.
Login to Me Too

Jason80
Contributor
Contributor