Why do payments get put on hold and how can I make it stop in the future?

Cynthena
Contributor
Contributor

I am a digital illustrator, I do not sell physical products so I have never needed to ship anything. My customers are paying for a service, in this case an illustration.

I collect payment in the same way each time - I create an invoice that I send to the customer via email, and they pay through that. When I create this invoice, I make sure to specify the order is not going to be shipped, there's no need for an address.

items.PNG

So why do payments still randomly get put on hold, with paypal assuming that a product needs to be shipped? What is the point of this option if it doesn't make a difference? I can say the order is 'processed' but that still forces me to wait another week minimum for the payment. When I looked up other people with similar issues they were told to have the customers confirm the transaction, but that option doesn't appear for mine. It's worth noting that when making payments these customers never get prompted to confirm whether or not they're buying a physical product. They just make the payment.

I already know customer service is useless, and I've accepted that I'll have no choice but to wait. I just want a solid answer for *why* this happens. It doesn't happen with every payment, it just seems to randomly be applied. If this is a bug, why on earth has it not been fixed? People have been reporting this issue for years. If it's something I'm managing to do on my end, then what is it and why is there nothing informing me on what exactly it is?