🛎Ebayer requested to preferably PayPal me directly instead of paying through EBay 🛎

DonnaC2184
New Community Member

I am grateful I have been selling on and off on eBay for over 10 years & I have been dubbed in the past so I am keen to these scam artists but sometimes it seems so genuine and convincing not especially this one lol This woman asked me to TEXT HER & we’d discuss our sale. She did a best offer on an expensive cosmetic product she said she was a gift to her niece and would provide her address.. ok. I offered to send an invoice because I’ve been down this road before selling my iPad and electronics I get these scallywags from all over the world usually outside USA. 

I gave her the benefit of the doubt maybe she felt more comfortable doing a privately on PayPal, but I offered an invoice that listed the products she picked.

ANDDDD THEN..... This was her checkmate she asked me to go BUY HER NEICE A $300 GIFT CARD and offered to send extra funds for doing this  and send it with the products she was purchasing LOLOLOL It’s funny but it’s NOT FUNNY bc if I didn’t know any better when she sent me that fake PayPal email showing the amount she paid some people would take it as official & not know & ship out over $400 of free sh*t to this dirtbag. 

Login to Me Too
3 REPLIES 3

sharpiemarker
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@DonnaC2184 

Anytime someone asks to pay outside of eBay checkout system is sketchy, that's why eBay don't allow it. Its really to protection each party. Sellers can ask buyers to pay with PayPal as friends and family stating not wanting to pay fees and then they disappear and you get characters like this as a buyer.

If the account is clonked out for whatever excuse, not my problem. Pay via eBay, please or keep it movin'. lol