Do I still need a credit card to send payments when I have funds in my account?

MoonstoneGhost
Contributor
Contributor

Hello!

I'm new to PayPal so please forgive me if this is a FAQ.

I'm adding funds to my PayPal account via my bank as I don't have a credit card yet, and would like to use those funds to buy something online. I was double checking the total at the online store and noticed that the transaction page for PayPal was still asking for a credit card. I realize the fund transfer won't be processed for a few days, but it left me wondering if I'd still need a credit card despite having funds in the account (when it is transferred, of course).

Thank you for any help and advice! ❤️

Login to Me Too
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solved

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@MoonstoneGhost 

You can use funds in your paypal balance 'as long as' they are in the correct currency and not pending.

BUT for some transactions ie digital / virtual or higher risk AND at 'some point' anyway Paypal will ask you to add a card to act as a back up funding source and to verify your Paypal account.

Advice is voluntary.
Kudos / Solution appreciated.

View solution in original post

Login to Me Too
2 REPLIES 2
Solved

kernowlass
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@MoonstoneGhost 

You can use funds in your paypal balance 'as long as' they are in the correct currency and not pending.

BUT for some transactions ie digital / virtual or higher risk AND at 'some point' anyway Paypal will ask you to add a card to act as a back up funding source and to verify your Paypal account.

Advice is voluntary.
Kudos / Solution appreciated.
Login to Me Too

sharpiemarker
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@MoonstoneGhost