Cancel and Refund Paypal Pre Authorized Debit

Jay666
Contributor
Contributor

I recently check my bank balance and find out on 26 Nov 2018 Paypal charges me $247.36 for Pre Authorized Debit, I checked my Paypal activity and couldn't find this transaction. I call Paypal customer service but can only go as far as checking activity within Dec, not Nov and couldn't talk to any people in Paypal. And I don't recall making any Pre Authorized Debit for Paypal.

I'm still really new to Paypal and don't know what to do, it's a big amount of money for a student like me. Can anyone give me an advice or can tell me what action I can take to get that money back?

Login to Me Too
2 REPLIES 2

sharpiemarker
Esteemed Advisor
Esteemed Advisor

@Jay666

Is there a merchant name in the description or it just says "PayPal"? Quite odd that there is a pre-auth for that big of an amount if you did not purchase anything. Usually pre-auths will drop off if the payment is not captured in a week but no longer than 30 days. Have you called your bank and tell them this transaction is suspicious and unauthorized?

Kudos & Solved are greatly appreciated. 🙂
Login to Me Too

Jay666
Contributor
Contributor

@sharpiemarker

According to my bank account, there no merchant or anything at all, just state "PayPal". I double checked my PayPal account activity which didn't show and list this specific transaction. I also checked with my bank, and they confirmed that this transaction is made by PayPal and it happened last week.

The bank suggests if I find this transaction suspicious and unauthorized, I can fill up some form (which I can only do next week)  and they will do some investigation for me and will return the money if it is suspicious and unauthorized.

That why I also seeking advice and helps, and I also want to double confirm with PayPal what is going on right now.

Login to Me Too

Haven't Found your Answer?