Can't purchase on ebay. Card "not confirmed"?

Lisergiko
Contributor
Contributor

I've been buying things on ebay for over 5 years now, and I've always used a Maestro debit card connected to my Paypal account. My last purchase was on the 30th of August, but I can't buy anymore now. ebay prompts this error, which usually appears when there's no money on my card. I checked three times and I have over $15 on my card, hence I should be able to make this $2.5 purchase.

The Mastercard you see in the picture is completely empty, so I can't use that.

<removed>

After clicking Continue towards Paypal, the American site comes up and prompts me to register another card. This has happened to me before; I'd usually open the Italian Paypal in a new tab, log in and I could complete the purchase by refreshing and confirming in the ebay tab.

But since yesterday, I can't do this anymore. I suppose this bug has happened to me since Maestro cards only exist in Europe. But using the Italian site doesn't work anymore, it instantly redirects me to "paypal.com". When I check the Wallet page, my Maestro card (under Payment methods) has a yellow exclamation mark. It requires me to enter this "code" I should receive in my bank invoice. Problem is, we don't get bank invoices here, not for rechargeable debit cards at least. I only get text messages after every purchase, but there's no such code in these SMS...

I've messaged Paypal but haven't received a response yet. Repeating: I could always bypass this issue by logging in the Italian site (where I originally registered), but Paypal instantly redirects to the American site and I'm unable to make purchases.

What has changed since 6 days ago? I completed a small purchase on the 30th of August, without any issues...

Please help?

Login to Me Too
10 REPLIES 10

Owen-19
Contributor
Contributor